Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine Interview Experience

Interview date: January 23, 2017

The day started at 9:30am and a light breakfast was provided – bagels, donuts, juices, yogurt, etc. Once everyone in the interview group had arrived we had some time to talk and get to know one another. My interview group was just 8 candidates (including myself) so we were in a small conference room on the 3rd floor of the building. I don’t know if all the interview groups were this small or if it was small because it was a post-December interview. Either way, I really liked how small the group was because we got to interact and talk to each other more and get all of our questions answered during presentations and the tour.

The day officially started off by a tour given by a D4 and a D3 student. We went to the top-most floor and took a lap where the 2 current students explain what and where everything was and answered any questions we had. After the tour of that floor was done we walked done to the next one and so on until we got back to the 3rd floor. We did do a good amount of walking (we took the stairs instead of the elevators because it ended up being faster) because the sim lab was in the building across the street.

After the tour we had a few presentations to go over in the conference room, then had a break for lunch. During lunch (the food was delicious by the way lol) we had 2 current students eat with us (a D2 and a D3 student) and we got to ask them questions about the school, dental school life, how the interview would be, etc. They were super helpful.

The interview:
After lunch, the interviews officially started. I think there were 4 interviewers total so each one conducted 2 interviews each. All the interviews lasted from 10 minutes to 45 minutes depending on who you got and when you were interviewed. I was the last one to be interviewed and my interview only lasted about 10 (maybe 15) minutes! I was honestly shocked by the end of it, how was the interviewer going to get a feel for my personality and who I was as a person within that short of time and without really asking me any questions?!? I felt like I was trying to come up with ways to talk more about why I did poorly in undergrad and my extracurriculars I’m involved in right now but it was a little difficult so after a little bit I stopped because I didn’t want the interviewer to think I was struggle with the interview lol. So overall, I would say I did well but who really knows!

I spoke to the other interview candidates and they all said the same thing – it was very informal and very conversational.

After all the interviews were done we had a few more presentations about financial aid, housing/student affairs, etc. Once the presentations were done we were asked to fill our a short survey and then we were free to leave.

Overall, I really like the school and Boston as a city. Everyone seemed happy, friendly and willing to help and would love to attend BU!

Questions they asked me:

  1. How big was my high school class size approximately?
  2. How big is my class size at Barry University? (My graduate school)
  3. Do you have any siblings?
  4. What do they do?
  5. Do you have any questions for me?

^This was literally all I was asked! Which is why I came out of the interview a little worried.

*Side note: After the interview, I walked a couple blocks to Flour Bakery and got a sticky bun before heading to the airport, and I have to say – IT. WAS. DELICIOUS.  🙂 If you’re ever in Boston, you need to try one!

-N

 

 

Leave a Reply

